Always for the stories

I don’t watch a lot of television, but when I do, I know what kind of movies I like to watch, and what kind I try to avoid. These are my top ten.

1.- Pride and prejudice

Who doesn’t want to see Mr. Darcy make a full of himself with such attractiveness and pride? This is romantic without being cheesy, like the ones that make me roll my eyes to the back of my skull and bite off my tongue to keep me from laughing out loud and tsk. Besides, we have a strong protagonist who speaks her mind, and who is not afraid of being herself or ashamed by her family. Because, you know, her family is kind of embarrassing.

2.- Dracula (duh)

Sighs.

Oh, I have mentioned before that I think this is the most romantic movie of all times (to me, at least). We are given a Dracula that’s different from the one in the book, which doesn’t necessarily make him a bad character or a bad movie. It is dark. Vlad is a jackass who kills people for fun. He traps a pathetic Jonathan inside his castle when he discovers his bride is Mina, his dearest one, whom he lost four centuries ago He crosses oceans of time for her, and loves her. Of course, he also bites people and turn them into blood suckers, but hey, at least he doesn’t sparkle, and certainly he doesn’t save himself for marriage. That is always a plus.

3.- Interview with the vampire

Oh, Louis, Brad Pitt, I don’t even care if you are a whiny creature at the beginning of your immortal existence, I love you. I even love your sensitive and reluctance to kill humans, that melancholy is appealing as your cute face. And, Lestat? You are a moron, but it’s ok, I like you as well.

Even if the movie is a bit different from the book, I still love to watch it at night with the lights on and a wooden stake, just in case.

4.- The girl who leapt through time

This movie, at first, seems to be a comedy. There is a teenager who, after having an incident, finds out she can leap through time, so she uses this as an opportunity to re do the things she sucked at. She does it on selfish reasons, because she doesn’t know the times she can jump are limited to a certain amount, and when she finally does things get real, and then sad.

It is not the kind of Japanese movies that always end up with deaths or something just as awful, but it breaks your little kokoro anyway. You go from laughter to tears in a blink of an eye, and then you want more.

5.- The silence of the lambs

Well, well. If it isn’t Hannibal Lecter, the fucked up shrink who eats people and manipulates them into killing themselves.  To what do we owe the pleasure?

There is nothing I like more than elegant, and polite killers who only go for the rude people, or for the tasty ones.

I don’t even like this genre, but the movie, as well as the book, is a masterpiece that should be watched at least once, or twice if that’s possible.

6.- Five centimeters per second

Another Japanese title. Weird.

Five centimeters per second hits home.

At the beginning you meet two friends who write each other letters. They are really close, the kind of friends you have when you are young and think friendship lasts forever. One day, one of them, the girl, moves out, but they continue writing. Then the boy also moves out. They are far away from each other, nonetheless they are pen pals. They talk about everything and all. The guy even goes to visit her once, they spend the night together, but not that together. After that…

Well, it is easy to know the conclusion if you ever had a friend you parted ways with. At the beginning everything is good, but then time happens, and the distance comes. Years of silence go by until both of you are strangers. Your life is stuck at some point because you seem unable to let go of some parts of your past. You think about that person, yet it doesn’t make sense anymore; you two are different people, and even if your young selves are still looking for each other, the old ones are not.

Like I said, it’s easy if you’ve been there, and done that. That is the reason this movie hits home and shatters bits of your heart until there is only one piece left. Now, to make things worse, there is a song at the very end that gives you all the wrong feelings…

7.-Emma

I love and hate Jane Austen, love and hate her books, but I always love the movies that come from her work. Emma is a comedy about a rich girl who wants to be a matchmaker. She sucks at it, but she means well. Emma is a walking disaster with a good heart and, sometimes, childish manners. We get something different than what were are used to. Now it is not a poor character, but a wealthy one who doesn’t give a shit if she is still single because she doesn’t need to get married. She thinks someone single and rich makes an elegant person, unlike the single and poor. So, she is not interested. She is more interested on having her friend fall in love with whomever she thinks is good for her. And then there is Knightley. He needs no introduction.

8.- Underworld (just the first one, thank you)

This movie has real lycanthropes, not big dogs that you can kick and then run away from. This lycanthropes are the protagonists of some of my recurrent nightmares. They terrify me. Imagine you are walking down the street, it is all dark, and you walk by a big church, you raise your head up to see the big cross at the roof, but spot a black figure with red eyes you can see at the distance. That thing moves, the light hits its frame, and you see a beast you can only conjure from hell. You run, but it catches up in two seconds. You cannot move, because you are terrified, then you no longer are, because, well, it’s a full moon, and that is a lycanthrope, and you are dead the moment you left your house.

This is the type of monsters I like, respect, and fear. There are few movies that manage to portray them this way, the rest of them are just dogs. Really.

9.-The Lost Boys

Vampires again, surprise, surprise. When am I going to stop with the blood suckers? Never, I think.

The movie is about lost boys, duh, who have become troublemakers. It follows the story of a teenager who moves to a little town along his mother, brother, and cute dog, to live with his grandfather after a nasty divorce. Well, it seems the town has a lot of missing cases, and lots of murders. So, as it happens in all stories, he finds these kids and becomes one of them.

10.-Legends of the fall

Three brothers in love with the same girl, but no one gets to keep her. Brad Pitt.

The end.

What movies do you like? Is there a movie you think I should watch? Why?

70 thoughts on “Always for the stories

  1. Tanya Cliff says:

    Ah, Vampires…okay, I’ll bite (Vampire pun intended…Lol)

    I’ll give you a few movies I love enough to watch at least once a year.

    1- “Secondhand Lions”…I was hooked at the opening scene with Michael Caine and Robert Duvall shooting at fish with their rifles. It’s a movie with all the elements I love: adventure, quirky humor, great messages on what family is and can be and what it isn’t and should never be…just an all around great movie.

    2-“It’s a Wonderful Life” (1946)…I love it more each time I watch it.

    3-“This is Spinal Tap”…I laugh just thinking about it.

    Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…your phone has a mind of its own…scary…
        (They are almost getting to that point. Does it talk back to you when you ask it to do something? Call mom…”No. I don’t feel like it. I have a screen ache…”…the touch screen that doesn’t want to be touched…lmao…🦇

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…Whatever are you going to sue it for? Come to think of it, whatever are you going to sue me for? (Do I have something of value to you?) Because, I can’t imagine anyone getting through “It’s a Wonderful Life” without crying. 🦇

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…but what do you hope to gain from your phone? What kind of payment are you going to sue for? And, if I make you cry, though it really be Frank Capra who makes you cry, whatever are you going to ask for in payment?…Lol
        It’s good to have a bit of a cry now and again, so really, you should PAY me for assisting in a healthy emotional release…Lol🦇

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Oh, that’s too easy. I have a house full of them. You can have your own box, bring them back when your done and load up with a new set of them. If you ever manage to actually READ all the books in my house, I will write you some new ones. 🦇

        Like

      • believemeornotsite says:

        That is the sweatest thing someone has ever said to me! But, yeah, I’ll read them. There are times I pause my reading to try to write of just to rest my vision, but after that I read as if the world were to end the next day. It also depends on the book.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        I go through reading seasons. When I’m busy reading, I devour books. When I’m busy writing, I’m not even that interested in reading…probably because of all the reading and rereading I do of my own work. The more I write, the less I read…unless it pertains to what I’m doing in some way, and then I devour it. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to read all the books in my house, and I keep buying more…so have at it…Lol🦇

        Like

      • believemeornotsite says:

        Agree! I buy books, titles I want to read, the ones I read in digital, but want to have either way. I have a long list of books, and it gets bigger every single day, but that doesn’t stop me. I know I’ll read them all some day. It takes me more time to read those in English, but I devour them and think they are chocolate.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        At my house, you get the books like chocolate and the real, yummy, actual chocolates…remember those chocolate covered cookie dough balls? We made a bunch of them this weekend. So, yes, double yummy…my Vampire in for a real treat…all the way around.🦇

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…people who visit my home usually get treated to good food, especially this time of year. I haven’t even told you about the cheesecakes- turtle and Bailey’s Irish Cream are the two favorites, the chocolate tart, the lemon tart, my chocolate chip pancakes, which are to die for – no one uses syrup, just butter…Lol (and then there is the real food…the stuff I actually eat…the sugar is for everyone else.) I’ve never made flan, but it doesn’t look easy…Lol (I think you are underselling…)
        Like I said, lucky Vampire…I’m just holding out my wrist…🦇

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        They aren’t that difficult. The tarts are hard…the fillings are timed “just so” and you have to get it right or you end up with “something else”…Lol (I’ve learned from experience.)

        My favorite things in the kitchen are the meals I cook, because that food I do eat. I enjoy being in the kitchen, especially if I have someone to cook with me…🦇(I wonder if my Vampire will like to cook/bake? Maybe if I give him a little nip of me now and then to keep him happy…)

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        hehe…among other things…
        scrambled eggs are good…
        My favorites, aside from pretty much any veggie dish, would be my beef stew, pork tinga and homemade thin-crust pizza (stone cooked) with my own sauce…tummy rumbling?🦇(mine is…)

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Ah, well, sweet, food-ish dreams then. I never think about food when I go to bed…Lol
        I will dream of other things of which I will not speak…Lol (🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇hehe)

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…for me as well…just minus the food and books…🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        No…that’s good. I guess it tells you in what direction my appetite runs…Lol🦇
        (Don’t know what that says about me. Then again, I was decorating for Christmas with my children today, and the youngest 2 started signing “The 12 Days of Christmas”, so I taught them “100 Bottles of Beer on the Wall” instead…Lol…I don’t even drink beer, but it was funny..and bad.)

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…High on life and love, yep. We get kinda goofy.
        We are baking more cookies today, at least according to my daughter…so I will be in the kitchen part of the day, probably singing “100 bottle of beer”…because I NOW cannot get the darn song out of my head…Lol (that’s ought to teach me)🦇
        (If she wants to do the cut-outs, I’m grabbing my Halloween “bat”…Lol)

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…yes, but not MY cookies…🦇and I’ll bet you didn’t have any chocolate covered cookie dough balls either…hehe
        (I won’t even mention the cheesecakes, but I just did…Lol)

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…I don’t eat any of the sweets, which is why I’m no bigger than I was as a teenager..But that’s by choice, so I’m not complaining.
        You can BYOW and I’ll BYOV, and we’ll hope that the W and the V don’t hurt each other out of a sense of letter envy (the W is larger but has two conflicting points…the V can target all his energy right down the middle…Lol)🦇

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…As long as my V doesn’t damage any important parts…(okay, that just sounds funny)…Yes, we can swap books and you can eat chocolate…(allow that my Spanish is muy mal…it has been years….BUT…Mon appétit pour mon Vampire augmente d’heure en heure…Lol…my French is moderately better, although I did have to look up a few of the words…)🦇

        Like

      • believemeornotsite says:

        Ha,ha. Oh, my French sucks, I do understand, (I am happy to announce I understood your whole sentence without the dictionary) but when I say something it sounds funny (horrible, help me). My Spanish is better (it should be, darn it!), and my English is dysfunctional at its best. My tongue has a mind of its own, so it makes me go mad and say word that are not supposed to be included in a sentence. Lol, but yeah, let’s watch them fight while you bake cookies and I eat them!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        There’s nothing dysfunctional about your English…that’s funny. I just nearly responded to another blogger with a 🦇…hehe…honestly…you’ve got Vampire on my brain…
        Yes, I will bake…you eat to your heart’s content…(I’ll refrain from commenting on your tongue…for now…Lol)

        Like

      • believemeornotsite says:

        Don’t blame me for the vampire! Blame the vampire for its amazing existence. It’s their fault we lust after them. Oh, come on and bite us already!
        Lol. Also, I like the way you think, what with the cooking, the eating, the Reading, and the lusting.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Too funny…I wonder if my Vampire’s tongue will have a mind of its own?…hehe🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇(trying to get the bats out of my system, so I don’t inadvertently give them to other…I don’t think it’s working…I’m going to sue you for that, btw..)

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…Yes, I owe you…but I’m going to sue you anyway…like you with my books, but I want one box of your messed up sense of humor at a time. I’ll keep returning the box, and you can keep filling it up…and if you run out of existing messed up humor to share, you need to make more for me with your tongue with a mind of its own…how’s that?🦇

        Like

      • believemeornotsite says:

        Messed up humor? Lol, that’s a first. You sure haven’t seen me make dark jokes and have people tell me I am a monster, but ok, I’ll send you a box at a time, but I want cookies to feed it when I ran out of it so I can make more. That sounds great!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Lol…I always keep my promises. I don’t promise things unless I can keep them. And, even if something gets in the way, I work until I can get past it and deliver…🦇
        I’ve had far too many people promise things and not deliver to live differently myself…Lol
        Whatever would you sue my Vampire for?…Lol

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        Glad to hear that. So it isn’t my Vampire and your Werewolf I have to worry about…I’m going to have to separate my cookie monster from my Vampire…the jealously starts already…🦇(Don’t worry. I’ll feed you both…Lol)

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        He is one of a kind…There are no Vampires in the universe like him. And I only have one cookie monster, so you better be nice to each other…or else…I’ve no idea what…I’ll probably spoil both of you anyway…Lol🦇

        Like

      • Tanya Cliff says:

        No…no biting Vampire head allowed…or I will lace wolfy cookies with deadly chocolate…(and you will be forced to find yourself a nice Vampire to settle down with…Lol)🦇

        Like

  2. Madame Vintage says:

    These are some great classics you have picked from. I reviewed the Lost Boys in my ‘That 80’s Series post I made up highlighting some of my favourites from the era. I also love that you included The girl Who Leapt Through Time. It is such a charming movie that touches you with the right about of emotion without being overly ‘kawaii’ (if that’s understandable). Like you.I always go for the stories and stunning visuals are not far behind. Great post. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

